SA Journal of Education Publication

Please note tha 2014 edition has been filled.

Reviews of the SABEC manuscripts will be considered for the post-2014 issue.

Programme Committee

Click below to see our Programme Committees.

2nd SA Basic Education Conference SA

Practise Committee

Ms Gail Campbell

Conference Chair 2014
Organisation:Chief Executive Officer
Zenex Foundation

Research Committee

Prof Mary Metcalfe

Conference Co-Chair
Organisation: School of Public and Development Administration,
University of the Witwatersrand


Joanne Brink

Committee Member
Organisation:Independent Consultant





Prof Relebohile Moletsane

Research Chair
Organisation: Professor & John Langalibalele Dube Chair in Rural Education in the School of Education, University of KwaZulu-Natal



Mr. Martin Prew

Committee Member
Organisation: Visiting fellow at Witwatersrand University School of Education

Prof Eldrie Gouws

Committee Member
Organisation: Department of Psychology of Education at the University of South Africa

Barbara Dale-Jones

Committee Member



Prof Felix Maringe

Committee Member
Organisation: Educational Leadership and Policy Studies at the WITS School of Education

Almarie van Zyl

Committee Member
Organisation:SA Principals Association

John Gilmour

Committee Member
Organisation: LEAP Executive Director

Judith o'Connell

Committee Member
SA Principals Association

Marion Joseph

Committee Member

Muavia Gallie

Committee Member
Education Moving Up

Renny Somnath

Committee Member

Mokgethi Tshabalala

Committee Member
Thebe Foundation

Prof Maureen Robinson

Committee Member
Organisation: Dean of the Faculty of Education at Stellenbosch University












Dr Nomalanga Mkhize

Committee Member
Organisation: Lecturer at the Department of History in Grahamstown



Vusi MnCube

Committee Member

Liezel Ebersohn

Committee Member

Loyiso Jita

Committee Member

Jace Pillay

Committee Member





1st SA Basic Education Conference

Chairs Organisation      
Prof Mary Metcalfe Development Bank of SA      
Ms Mpho Letlape Sasol Inzalo Foundation      
Research Committee Organisation   Practice Committee Organisation
Prof Maureen Robinson (Research Chair) Cape Peninsula University of Technology   Mr Godwin Khosa (Practice Chair) Joint Education Trust
Prof Jill Adler University of Witwatersrand   Ms Gail Campbell Zenex Foundation
Prof Liesel Ebersohn University of Pretoria   Ms Phutumile Dumisa Penreach MD
Prof Aslam Fataar University of Stellenbosch   Dr Muavia Gallie University of Pretoria
Prof Eldrie Gouws UNISA   Mr John Gilmore Leap Schools
Ms Heather Jacklin University of Cape Town   Ms Veronica Hofmeester SADTU
Prof Hilary Janks University of Witwatersrand   Ms Marion Joseph NAPTOSA
Prof Leketi (John) Makalela University of Limpopo   Ms Margie Keeton


Prof Vusi MnCube University of Kwazulu Natal   Dr Nomsa Masuku Standard Bank
Prof Lebo Moletsane University of Kwazulu Natal   Ms Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuke Umlambo
Prof Jace Pillay University of Johannesburg   Dr Judith O'Connell National Business Initiative
Dr Ngoato Takalo Nort West University   Dr Martin Prew Centre for Education Policy and Development
Prof Linda Theron Nort West University   Mr Renny Somnath SADTU
      Ms Almarie van Zyl SA Principals Association
      Ms Linda Vilakazi Bridge

This is not a commercial conference


Call for abstracts / papers

Promotional Marketing

Conference Supporters

Past SABEC Conferences

Twitter Feeds

Facebook Feeds